On the Wing

Flying in the face of widespread left wing extremism!

Live and let live.

Posted by Exile on May 19, 2006

I found an article by Bradley Burston on the Haaretz website.
The story concerns a little incident on the road to Galilee. Why does that sound familiar?

We were driving in the Galilee, waiting for a red light to change, when they came up to the car. Their smiles were engagingly open as they wished us a fine trip. Then they offered us the flyer. Jews for Jesus. Who says that evil can’t be imported, and delivered, free of charge, direct to your car door? Don’t get me wrong. The members of Jews for Jesus are pure souls. They are among the most wholesome, guileless, truly well-meaning, fundamentally lovely people you will ever meet. More’s the pity, therefore, that there’s a special place in hell just for them.

And frankly, I agree with him. Let me explain.
When I reached the end of my teenage life and began life as an adult, society demanded that I take responsibility for my life and my actions. Fine by me. I had waited long enough for my free will, to be free to do as I would do. Make my own decisions. Go where I would go. I had to make some choices in life for myself. One thing that became very clear was that I would have to find out how I would behave and what I could believe in, or disbelieve, and make my own mind up about what was right and wrong, good or bad. It is basic if one is to live a good life. It is called conviction. All this makes me the person I am, according to my own decisions and beliefs. That is mine. Adult, responsible decisions. And if you don’t like the decisions I made, then you probably wouldn’t like the person that made them. But hey, that’s your decision. And I don’t care. Live and let live.
What I believe, or do not believe is entirely my business. And what you believe is yours. And that is why I agreee with Bradley Burston. There is a special place in hell for anyone who will not respect that.
Bradley continues with this mini-broadside of common sense:

Make no mistake, I believe that these Christians must have every freedom to worship Jesus as their lord and messiah, perform every ritual, celebrate every holiday that they see fit. If they want to do Born-again Kiddush and Last Supper Kneidelach and Savior Shalosh S’eudes – gezunterheit.
[…………]
But bear with me for one brief moment, if only to read the next sentence, which has specifically to do with you, as well as with your Jewish prey, thousands of years of Jewish history, and evil:

Proselytizing is persecution.

Yes. It is. I remember being “missionised” by a Jehova’s witness who knocked on my door and told me I would go to hell if I didn’t convert. I asked him if he had ever considered changing his beliefs. “No”. he said. I asked him why then, would he assume that I would? I then told him to go to hell, and leave me alone. According to him, I’m eternal toast. According to me, so’s he. The good lord, Wakan-Tanka, Manitou, Vishnu or whatever, will sort me out when the time comes, and that will also be between me and her and be nobody else’s business.
Think how pleasant this world would be, if we all kept what we each individually believe to ourselves. Why do others want me to convert, or believe what they believe, do as they do? They made their choice. I have made mine. I will not move from it, I don’t expect them too either. And I will not force them to do otherwise, condemn them or kill them for it.
I don’t care what you believe in. Just don’t ask me to believe it, or try to force me to. That’s your decision and I respect it.
Respect mine.
A last note from Bradley Burston:

…. you may well be thinking: This guy sounds riled. He needs a friend in Jesus.
You’re thinking wrong. This guy needs you to keep your salvation to yourself.
Believe whatever you want. Practice whatever you preach.
Just stay the hell away from us.

Let me reiterate, “Just stay the hell away from us.” Yeah, stay away from Bradley. And me. Let us believe what we choose to believe. It is our choice. Each to his own.

Respect it.

Leave a Reply

 
