On the Wing

Flying in the face of widespread left wing extremism!

Back home again.

Posted by Exile on June 12, 2006


..and all ‘blues’ed out’ as one Chicago musician put it. What a great trip. We drove from Chicago to the mighty Mississipi Delta, north to Memphis, and finally back to Chicago for the blues festival. Wow. I am worn out.

Here are a few unforgettable quotes I picked up along the way..

In Chicago talking to a guy in a bar, he was a bit the worse for wear and we were discussing the King Tut exhibition in Chicago..”Like the ancient gynæcologists used to say, if you’ve seen one sarcophagus, you’ve seen ’em all…” I think he meant archæologists but he was incapable of coherent thought by then.

In a motel in Rantoul, 120 miles south of Chicago trying to check in..”Denmark? Europe? Oh, that’s in France, right?” OK, honey, you’re blonde, it’s in France.

In a motel in Memphis, I heard someone banging on the next door to ours. It went on for a long time so eventually I looked out to see what was going on. There was this real redneck and his girlfriend. I asked what the problem was.. ” We’all dun locked arse’ves aht y’all y’no?” I asked if there was anyone inside the room. He thought hard for a second or two and then replied “Ah dudn’t thank so. We’all aht heeah”
Mentally challenged? No, just from Arkansas.

Huge black man in Clarksdale. “..you’re cool, for a white guy..” Thankyou God….!

Muddy Waters, quote: “You don’t have to have a white face to be a gentleman”. (On his memorial at the Clarksdale blues museum).
And I met people that proved it.

I talked to “Homesick” James Williamson, the writer of Homesick Blues (1950). He is 97 years old, from Tennesee, still singing the blues and we sipped Jack Daniels together in a bar at the Essex inn in Chicago. “You from Denmark? Hell boy, I been there. Man, I been everywhere..!” And I believe him too. I will never forget that half hour with him.

There were doubtless others, but I am too tired to remember them right now.
It was great. We laughed, I cried tears of joy, and I am a wiser man for having made the trip.

Last quote:
“Man, it’s good to be home.” Me.

Leave a Reply

 
