On the Wing

Flying in the face of widespread left wing extremism!

Free Mogadishu!

Posted by Exile on December 28, 2006

Or “Run Mo, run!”

I picked this up from CBS:

Somalia’s Islamic movement abandoned the nation’s capital on Thursday and clan militiamen poured into the streets, looting the bases of the departing fighters. [….] Somalia’s Islamic movement abandoned the nation’s capital on Thursday and clan militiamen poured into the streets, looting the bases of the departing fighters.

Well well. Surprise, surprise. The Islamists left Mogadishu and ran off to the south leaving “The Mog” open to the clans again. The Ethiopian army is marching on into Mogadishu. The clans are reforming and the battle for “The Mog” moves back into it’s old routine. At least it looks that way if you believe the following two statements made by local fighters:

Yusuf Ibrahim, a former Islamic movement fighter who quit Thursday, said only the most hardcore fighters were still opposing the government and its Ethiopian backers. He numbered them at about 3,000, and said they were headed to the port city of Kismayo, south of Mogadishu.

“I have seen that the Islamists are defeated. I’m going to rejoin my clan,” said gunman Mohamed Barre Sidow. “I was forced to join the Islamic courts by my clan, so I now I will return to my clan and they will decide my fate, whether I join the government or not.”

Could it be that the clans wanted the Islamists less than they wanted the Americans? Will they now unite with the Ethiopian army and chase after the Islamists? Loyalties shift very quickly in Somalia. Apparently they will back whoever it is that seems to be winning the fight here and now.
Strangely enough, there isn’t that much chatter on the big MSM services about what is going on in Somalia. Or is it just that I am used to having embedded journalists in the fighting echelons and the Ethiopians don’t have any? Another thing I noticed; Somalia is a member of the League of Arab Nations. They aren’t saying much either. In fact, I can’t find anything about the whole Somalian affair on any of their websites. The UN is surprisingly quiet about it.

I wonder. Why is nobody reporting this war?

Leave a Reply

 
