On the Wing

Flying in the face of widespread left wing extremism!

Changing My Supplier

Posted by Exile on April 27, 2008

This has nothing to do with drug pushers! The simple fact is that my present internet provider is costing a bit more than my wifes employers are willing to pay. We are amongst those that are lucky enough to have an employer who sees the internet as a personal fringe benefit and, therefore, we have a paid internet connection to use as freely as we want. Which is nice. Or at least, it was. Now they have found a cheaper alternative. The good news is, that the new connection is faster than the old one. Ah, the power of bargaining. We have x-amount of employees. How much for , whatever, service per employee?

Tomorrow I have to reconfigure the computer here and find out how to make the connection wireless. I have little idea of how this works but they have provided me with a do-it-yourself DVD-CD and a mountain of technical manuals which I won’t read and don’t understand. My wife is relying on my superior technical know-how to solve any problems. A very trusting lady. After all, she says, if you can change the light bulb in the halogen lamps, you can do this too.

This may be a blessing in disguise. I have long wondered about the wireless angle and thought that if I bought the laptop of my dreams, how would I hook it up from my living room when the internet outlet is in my den? Wi-Fi is the way forward.

There may be a short break in service tomorrow and who knows how long that may take? I don’t. The old connection disappears tomorrow at 16:30. After that, it’s up to me and my technical understanding.

For now then, a fond farewell and I’ll get back to you as soon as I can.

Whenever that may be.

Leave a Reply

 
