On the Wing

Flying in the face of widespread left wing extremism!

Race Champion Dies

Posted by Exile on May 6, 2008

I saw this headline on the Timesonline webside and thought, “Oh, Nikki Lauda? Sterling Moss?” I don’t really follow racing much so my knowledge of who drove what and won is rather limited. As it turns out I am completely on the wrong track (no pun intended) on this one. I went on to read what should have been an obituary:

Race champion dies

Richmond. Mildred Loving, 68, a black woman whose challenge to Virginia’s ban on interracial marriage led, in 1967, to a landmark Supreme Court ruling, has died. She married her white husband in 1958 and later said: “It was God’s work.” (AP)

I don’t know what to be more ashamed of. My own ignorance, or the Times’ headline.

One Response to “Race Champion Dies”

  1. jj said

    Unfortunately racism is alive and well in the US.

Leave a Reply

 
