On the Wing

Flying in the face of widespread left wing extremism!

Copenhagen by night…

Posted by Exile on November 22, 2006

I started my new job last week. It is night work. I have found that my social and home life is badly affected. I sleep when others are up and about. My evenings are truncated as I have to leave for work at 21.30 (and get home after 07.00.) I can either have my leisure time in the morning or late afternoon. I miss the daylight now. It is winter. I get to work in the dark and get home before it is light. I sleep in the daylight hours. I am prepared for the supposed “depression” that this can cause. I realise that I won’t be blogging as much as I used to. Nor will I be so socially active as I have been.
The upside is, that we don’t get disturbed by the telephone so much at work. I am the top dog. We get to work, the guys get going and I will be king in my own little nocturnal castle. The quicker we get done, the quicker we get home. I will change things. We will work smarter, not harder. We will be more effective. I will see to that. My rules will apply.

And I get paid a shed load of money to do just that.

I will re-evaluate my situation in six months. If I’m not happy, I’ll change job.
We’ll see. Money isn’t everything.

Leave a comment